

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING (AGM) NOVEMBER 19TH, 2022 at 7:00PM MST Via ZOOM VIDEO CONFERENCE

Directors Present: Roland Searle (President/Chair), John Krupa (Vice President/Chair), Jack DeRoo (Treasurer), Sophie Norton (Secretary) Kyle Arink (Director), Jaison Van Tine (Past Chair), Steffan Shaw (Director)

Guests (Non-Voting): Perry Schmunk (CSIA Managing Director), Lisa Cambise (CSIA Senior Director of Finance and Shared Services), Karen Kjorven (Alberta RAC)

Guests (Voting): Jeff Marks (National Program Coordinator), Kyle Armstrong (Alberta Education Program Coordinator

Chairperson: Roland Searl

Minutes Taken By: Sophie Norton

- 1. Call to Order @ 19:03 MST- Roland Searl
- 2. Verification of Quorum Roland Searl
 - Quorum is met there are more than 5 members present.
- 3. Introduction of the Board, National Director and Guests Roland Searl
 - Introduction of regional board members
 - Introduction of other guests
- 4. Adoption of the Agenda Roland Searl

Motion to adopt the agenda as written: moved by John Krupa, seconded by Steffan Shaw – Motion is passed.

5. Approval of Minutes from 2021 AGM - Roland Searl

Motion to approve the minutes of the 2021 AGM as written: moved by Steffan Shaw, seconded by Morgan Engel – Motion is passed.

6. Regional Update - Regional Chair - Roland Searle

- Lifting of COVID restrictions
- Support through scholarships for members \$100 \$2000. Apply online, continue this initiative.
- Project Y Outreach to under 30s spearheaded by Steffan. Assist young instructors in pathways to progress their careers.
- Level 3 academy Jack/Jaison/Don. Assist members working towards level 3 who lack training resources. Will continue this season.
- Spring Fling Back again after covid. Sophie Norton chaired committee, Competition style. Dual slalom, rail jam, synchronized skiing.
- Hall of fame Shannon Tauber from Rabbit Hill. Ian Hunter former Rossi rep.
- National Board Rep New rep Colin Borrow. Snow School Director, former regional board member. Thank you to Morgan Engel.
- EPC Thanks to Don KJ for service, leadership over many years. Welcome to Kyle Armstrong. Interski member, former chair, LL instructor.

7. National Update – Perry Schmunk (Managing Director) and Colin Borrow (National Board Member for Alberta)

Perry

- Good national year fiscally.
- National AGM Nov 30th. Bylaw change, voting online until Nov 2022
- Programs 17% up from last year

Colin

- Exiting times working through COVID
- Staff shortages in snow schools causing problems for industry partners.

8. Financial Report - Jack Deroo

- Acknowledge financials are coming out late. Addressing this issue
- Balance sheet in balance. Former discrepancies resolved.
- Cash reserves used to provide scholarships during COVID years when National income was low.
- Statement of Income and Loss
- No clinic Income. Subsidy from National significantly lower. Due to pandemic. Balances due to lack of social events such as spring fling.
- Professional fees up due to legal council on governance updates.
- Questions on income statement or balance statement No questions.

Motion to accept the Financial Statements for the fiscal year ending May 31, 2020: moved by Kyle Arink, seconded by Steffan Shaw – the motion passes.

9. Regional Governance Update – John Krupa/Jack Deroo

- Bylaw update For example digital updates, digital AGMs. Align with national bylaws.
- Ensure volunteer board members are protected from liable.
- Should be presenting financials 3 to 4 months after close. Ideally be September.
- Need ensure continuity on the board
- Use online voting
- Special meeting in the new year to approve new bylaws
- Do we hold Directors Liability insurance? Yes held by national, cover all regional boards.

10. Spring Fling Update – Roland Searl

• New format well received – intend to build on. Steffan Shaw running Banff event this season.

11.Election of Directors

- No members up for election this year.
- 3 new board members will need to be elected in spring.
- Please reach out if you would like to be involved.

12. Questions from Membership

Nothing

13. Motion to Adjourn - 19:41 MST - Motion Passed

- 1st Morgan Engel
- 2nd Steffan Shaw